Notification for the position of IOGOOS Chairman and Officers

Rules for Nomination of IOGOOS Chair / Officers:

- The Officers should be broadly representative of the regions of the Indian Ocean. viz. Central Indian Ocean, East Africa, Eastern Indian Ocean, Southern Africa and Indian Ocean Islands. Now the regions have been changed to Eastern Indian Ocean, Central Indian Ocean and Western Indian Ocean. And representatives from the IOGOOS Projects
- Officer shall serve in an individual capacity for a period of 2 years, up to a maximum of two terms. With the unanimous agreement of all members, in exceptional cases, an Officer can be extended for a further term of 2 years.
- If an Officer does not attend two consecutive Annual Meetings, the position of that Officer will be considered vacant and an election will be conducted for the position.
- If an Officer resigns, the position shall remain vacant until the next Annual Meeting. However, if the Chair is unable to serve, one of the Officers will be nominated by the Officers, to act as a Chair, till next Annual Meeting.
- IOGOOS Secretariat shall notify to all Members about the vacancies of the posts (Chair / Officers) and request nominations from members for the position of Chair of IOGOOS and for other Officers three months prior to the Annual Meeting.
- In the event of more nominations than vacant Officer Positions, an Election Return Officer, who is not a voting Member, shall be appointed, to oversee the election. Each member shall have a number of votes equal to the number of vacancies.

IOGOOS Chair and Officers: The following is the status of the Tenure of Chair and Officers of IOGOOS:

Term	2016-18	November 2018-	November 2020 –	November 2022-	Status	Representation
		October 2020 /	October 2022	October 2024		and present Role
Officer	Vacant	Dr. Brett Molony,	Dr. Brett Molony,	Eligible for serving		Eastern Indian Ocean
		CSIRO (May 2019)	CSIRO (Up to May	second term of two		
			2021)	years		IOGOOS Officer
Officer	Dr. Rezah Badal	Dr. Faiza Yamani,	Dr. Faiza Yamani	Eligible for serving	Willing to continue.	Western Indian
	Completed three	KISR, Kuwait (July	(Up to June 2021)	second term of two		Ocean
	terms of 2 years	2019)	,	years		
		,				IOGOOS Officer
Officer	Dr. S. S. C. Shenoi	Dr. S. S. C. Shenoi	Dr. T. Srinivasa	Eligible for serving	Willing to continue.	Central Indian
		(Retired from	Kumar (Up to June	second term of two		Ocean
		Service and post fell	2022) Elected as	years		

Annexure to IOGOOS 17th Annual meeting Background Documents

		vacant) Dr. T. Srinivasa	Interim Chair			Chair, IOGOOS
		Kumar (July 2020)				
Officer	Dr. Somkiat Khokiattiwong Completed three terms of 2 years	Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment (DFFE), South		Eligible for serving second term of two years. SIBER to confirm the nomination.	Agreed to continue the second term and supported by SIBER	
Officer	Dr. Mike Mcphaden	Africa (May 2019) Dr. Elaine McDonagh, NOC, Southampton (May 2019)	Dr. Elaine McDonagh, (Up to April 2021)	Eligible for serving second term of two years. IORP to confirm the nomination.	Would like to step-down. IORP sent the new nomination and Dr. Juliet Hermes, Department of Oceanography, University of Cape Town and Manager: SAEON Egagasini node	